petals in paris

tuesday 31st july @ 1:25 a.m.

i'm in a box. the lid is loose but i can't reach it to push it open. the air is fresh although it's a little dark in here. i'm alone but i can here others, with gentle whispers, calling out to be heard. the whispers get louder, the longer i sit here. but no one else seems to hear. nobody comes.

the label on the top of my box says "lesbian". with a label like that, no wonder i'm lonely.

i dreamt we were in paris, on a bridge overlooking clear water. you were smiling as you gave me red roses. three with velvet petals and thorns that cut my fingers. i bent down to kiss you, and our tongues licked like flames. it was soft and kind. you told me you loved me. but i didn't believe you. i thought you just needed me. wanted me so no one else could. the smile in your eyes told me different. you did love me. and i loved you back. my heart skipped a beat, or two. i felt the pain of the distance between us when i woke. i still love you. but my doubt is fading.