changing faces

sunday 29th february 2004 @ 23:55

you glance over your shoulder. yes, i'm still here. but the distance between us feels greater than a few feet of air to the other side of the room. your anger frightens me, your resentment burns me though you do not name it.

you lie, time and again. the lies of obsession, addiction, more than desire, beyond need. the lies are not about hiding the truth or creating alternatives, but broken promises and defensive changes of direction.

i see you at your least desirable and i am scared. not for lack of a fairytale but for a future in which i become a victim. a victim of my own faith and trust and of my passivity.

i don't believe that you would strike me down with your hands, but then, there are far worse injuries to sustained. at least if it were your hands that broke me, i could find a reason to run.