a little respect

sunday 11th may 2003 @ 02:16

back online. in a sexy new guise with sleek lines and a flat screen to fall into.

i saw you tonight. all of you. playing the games that you play with the rules that you designed for maximum effect. i guess we all play by our own rules. i'm flexible enough to learn as i go. it's just that i've learnt enough now to know that i don't have to like it. that i don't have to play at all. so i walked off into the darkness. and left you inhaling the smoke of youth in crowded corners. and realising how little respect for me you actually have. at this point, even friendship looks pale and thin when based on you seeing me as a thursday night occasional fuck.

you ripped me to shreds with your drunken slur. and the streetlights seemed too bright. and while you laughed at my expense, i saw you. my words through a smile betrayed me. but there is no pretending to myself just how much i don't need you.

respect from others can be hard to find in suitable places. it's only fitting that i should learn to find it in myself.