stay with me

sunday 9th march 2003 @ 23:42

i wandered into the fading sun and my favourite seat in the house was empty. the sweet scent of hot milk and the comforting aroma of overpriced coffee lulled me into daydreams that i noted in my trusted journal pages. i didn't feel you enter the room. you found me again. i liked that. but nothing was making sense today and you noticed. i liked that too.

and you stayed. and i told you my story. you said you didn't have any answers. i tried to tell you that i didn't expect you to. but i don't think you were listening. but you stayed longer. and i think you cared.

i can't say anything to change your mind. but i asked you anyway. stay with me. (i need you). but you can't. you have to fly. so i let you go. but you are still my comfort zone. my safety net. my dream. if you were gone long enough maybe it would fade. but you won't be. because you care. and somehow that seems more painful that seeing you leave forever. always within my grasp. but never mine to hold.