consume me

thursday 17th october 2002 @ 23:21

i am torn between the glare of consumerism and the less expensive not to mention friendlier desire to live a simple life without excessive needless possessions. i have packed away so many boxes of items that i have barely touched since i last moved 2 years ago. it seems obvious that i can and should live my life happily without them. yet i find myself boxing them up and imagining them in my new home. surrounding me with their history and comforting me with their presence. i would rather enjoy a life without the expense of such items, the video and cd collections, the mountains of books on subjects that no longer interest me, the hoards of games and art supplies that rarely see light of day or night. but i cannot let go of them. i may want them one day. surely at nearly thirty years old it is acceptable to have attained such a beautiful stash of objects, the reams of classic paperbacks, the piles of ancient vinyl and boxes ofcult movies. however i find i am disgusted that i am sucked in and swallowed by 21st century consumerism and my need to possess, (i'd check my spelling on that but i packed the dictionary). it doesn't change a thing now. i will just have to take it all with me. maybe those dusty rollerblades will come in handy one day...

moving day tomorrow. assuming all the paperwork is ok. it's cutting it a bit fine. but i'm ecstatic that i don't have to work tomorrow.