monsters of rock and the long lost ballad

monday 18th november 2002 @ 00:10

persistant ringing in my ears from the speaker too close. thumping in my chest from the bass that threatened to stop my heart. and tears in my eyes after a ballad that overwhelmed me and took me back in time, when the music was enough to satisfy.

aging rock bands lived their dreams to an appreciative audience. and i yelled and clapped and the lyrics roared out over our heads. and for just a while, we were all seventeen again with our whole lives ahead with untold promises and our lungs and livers still clean and young.

i could say that we have gained more experience than wrinkles in the time that has passed. but me, i'm not sure i ever left that rock-chick phase, and right now, experience is overrated.

reading: needlepoint by jenny roberts

hearing: dogs d'amour, quireboys, thunder, alice cooper LIVE AND LOUD

wanting: time for bed

fearing: the frank conversations that beckon